You Can’t Buy Happiness, But You Can Make Tea

Someone who loves ‘Indian Tea’ will also agree with the fact that they are almost always addicted to it, just as I am. This addiction is so much so that it makes one have tea at any time of the day – early morning, mid-morning, afternoon, evening, night and a few more times. I confess I am an addict of the aromatic beverage. And I have several interesting reasons which I would call benefits in disguise that increases my love manifolds for having this quintessential Indian beverage or Chai as we call it.

You can be sure of getting instant company in India as soon you announce you are “going for tea”, and of course any tea stall or seller will always have some quick bites to add to it. Coupled with the break it gives you and the refreshment it provides, it is always a welcome indulgence. I can’t praise the Chai enough.

Some of the people whom I have met outside India who like the ‘Chai Latte’ have wanted to know how it’s made. I have been asked “Is there a powder which is used to make the Chai?”

And then recently the Chai Latte was in news in the UK for all the wrong reasons, for containing the highest amount of sugar among the coffee shop beverages. But let me tell you, the Chai Latte and the Indian tea or Chai have a good amount of difference in taste and process.

So I thought I will share my recipe of Chai for more of you to enjoy this amazing beverage, which is very healthy and tasty as well.

How To Make Two Cups of Indian Chai/Tea:

You will need:
Water – 1 cup
Milk – 1/2 cup
Tea bags – 2
Sugar – 3 tsp (or as per your taste)
Ginger –  ¼ inch (optional)

My tea recipe is very simple. I start by boiling one full cup of water first. Once the water attains few bubbles, I add 2 tea bags (or equivalent loose tea). Add half cup milk only when water changes colour to a light maroon (dark maroon if you want strong tea). Peel and crush 1/4 inch ginger meanwhile. When tea is about to boil, add sugar and ginger. Give it three to four more boils. Turn off the heat and strain the tea into tea mugs.

If you are feeling adventurous, you may try adding cardamom, bay leaf, clove, or cinnamon in place of ginger (not all of them together please).

PS: I have just discussed with my hubby the idea of inventing a tea machine which will make tea in my own unique way. Nice idea?

Leave a Reply

